Farhani Ahmad, Musfirah Azmi, Nurhamieza Md Huzir, N. M. Zain
{"title":"Development of Gelatin from Halal and Alternative Sources: A Review","authors":"Farhani Ahmad, Musfirah Azmi, Nurhamieza Md Huzir, N. M. Zain","doi":"10.17977/um060.2021v2p056-062","DOIUrl":null,"url":null,"abstract":"Gelatin is a common ingredient used in various industrial sectors including food and beverage, cosmetic, pharmaceutical as well as biomedical. Due to inexpensive processing cost and shorter processing time, porcine becomes the main source of gelatin. Thus, the application of this ingredient creates several problems especially issues related to its halal status among Muslim community. The present study aims at reviewing the development of gelatin from halal sources and their potential as alternatives to substitute the sources of non-halal gelatins. The applications of gelatin in food industry and the current issues on halal gelatin have been discussed in detail. The halal source of gelatin required intense study due to prominent demand of it not only in food industry but also in pharmaceutical industry. The development of halal gelatin provides Muslim alternatives and choices to consume gelatin as food and pharmaceutical products and yet complying with Islamic obligations.","PeriodicalId":332609,"journal":{"name":"Nusantara Halal Journal (halal Awareness, Opinion, Research, and Initiative)","volume":"94 1","pages":"0"},"PeriodicalIF":0.0000,"publicationDate":"2021-12-28","publicationTypes":"Journal Article","fieldsOfStudy":null,"isOpenAccess":false,"openAccessPdf":"","citationCount":"0","resultStr":null,"platform":"Semanticscholar","paperid":null,"PeriodicalName":"Nusantara Halal Journal (halal Awareness, Opinion, Research, and Initiative)","FirstCategoryId":"1085","ListUrlMain":"https://doi.org/10.17977/um060.2021v2p056-062","RegionNum":0,"RegionCategory":null,"ArticlePicture":[],"TitleCN":null,"AbstractTextCN":null,"PMCID":null,"EPubDate":"","PubModel":"","JCR":"","JCRName":"","Score":null,"Total":0}
引用次数: 0
Abstract
Gelatin is a common ingredient used in various industrial sectors including food and beverage, cosmetic, pharmaceutical as well as biomedical. Due to inexpensive processing cost and shorter processing time, porcine becomes the main source of gelatin. Thus, the application of this ingredient creates several problems especially issues related to its halal status among Muslim community. The present study aims at reviewing the development of gelatin from halal sources and their potential as alternatives to substitute the sources of non-halal gelatins. The applications of gelatin in food industry and the current issues on halal gelatin have been discussed in detail. The halal source of gelatin required intense study due to prominent demand of it not only in food industry but also in pharmaceutical industry. The development of halal gelatin provides Muslim alternatives and choices to consume gelatin as food and pharmaceutical products and yet complying with Islamic obligations.